Friday, October 16, 2009

Prevent Windows 7 From Automatic Restart After System Failure

Making an improvement over Windows XP, Window 7 allows a user to get rid of system restarts.
A reflection on Windows 7 features will tell us that if the operating system Windows 7 fails due to driver error and your system restarts, you can follow these steps to resolve the issue.
Just click the "Start" button after selecting "Control Panel". After that, click "System and Security", and then "System". In the left pane, select "Advanced system settings". If the User Account Control dialog box appears, click "Yes". The "System Properties" multi-tabbed dialog box appears. Click the "Advanced" tab. Underneath "Startup and Recovery", click the "Settings" button. After that in Windows 7 the "Startup and Recovery" dialog box appears. Underneath "System failure", uncheck "Automatically restart". Click "OK" on the dialog boxes to close them.
Meanwhile, in Windows 7, you can also set Process Priorities to boost your system. You will have to determine which processes should get the most attention in your Windows 7 system.
If your main program or process running too slow on your Windows 7 version, you can raise the priority of it.
You can open Task Manager by pressing Ctrl+Shift+Esc together on keyboard. The multi-tabbed "Windows Task Manager" should appear. Make sure the "Applications" tab is selected. If the process you need to change is linked to an application, right-click it and choose "Go to Process" from the pop-up menu that appears.
Otherwise, click the "Processes tab" to find a process you need to change. Right-click a process and select "Set Priority". If you cannot find the process that needs its priority changed, click the "Show processes from all users" button. You may have to confirm your action via User Account Control.
From here you can select from the following possible priorities (highest to lowest): Realtime, High, Above Normal, Below Normal, Normal, and Low.
If you are sure you want to change the process priority, click the "Change priority" button when prompted.
You cannot change priorities permanently, next time you reboot your computer default priority will be there. Save all open files before trying this trick.